1.Tana and Athi Rivers Development Authority (TARDA)

Tana and Athi River Development Authority (TARDA), covers Machakos, Tana River, Meru, Makueni, Kajiado, Kiambu and Kitui Counties. These areas experience frequent droughts and unpredictable rainfall, which have devastating effects on the economy and livelihoods. The failure of the 2010 and 2011 seasonal rains followed by the rainfall deficits in the 2012 season virtually halted crop production and alarmingly reduced the water table. This situation has exposed the population in South-eastern Kenya to extreme weather conditions and increased vulnerability of these communities. Read more

The following are the sub-Entities under TARDA.

(i) Kenya Red Cross Society

(ii) Horn Aid

(iii) Caritas Nyeri 

2. Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI)

Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI),is one of the major Executing Entities of NIE. Its project by KEFRI is being implemented in Loitoktok, Kajiado County. Loitokitokis located at the southern tip of Rift Valley province near the Kenyan border and Republic of Tanzania to the West, Taveta district to the South East, Kajiado Central to the North West and Kibwezi to the East. Read More

The following are the sub-entities under KEFRI;

(i) Nasaru CBO

(ii) Victoria Research and Development (ViRED) 

3.Coast Development Authority (CDA)

 The Coast Development Authority (CDA) is responsible for the coastal region, in partnership with other stakeholders thus intends to promote alternative sources of freshwater in a bid to reduce pressure on groundwater sources and also to create public awareness on the importance of protecting natural water systems. Rainwater harvesting is one of the strategies that will be incorporated as an alternative source of freshwater. The Programme activities will thus entail the installation of roof catchments and construction of water pans to harvest rain water for agricultural production and domestic use. These activities will be undertaken in Kwale, Taita Taveta, Mombasa, Kilifi, Tana River and Lamu Counties as well as Ijara in Garissa County. Read More

Related links


Related Links:

NIE News

NIE Gallery

Green Climate Fund (GCF) 

Contact Us

Popo Road,South C, off Mombasa Road

P.O.BOX 67839-00200, Nairobi. Kenya

Mobile: 0724 253398, 0735 013046.


Opinion Poll

Rate Our Services?
Copyright © 2024 National Environment Management Authority (NEMA). All Rights Reserved.